Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Still look pregnant after 3 years - what can I do?

(33 Posts)
Paperowls Tue 13-Jun-17 17:57:24

I am so over looking pregnant but I'm not making any progress. I've been working out with a personal trainer for 8 months but I'm not any fitter or more toned. I've got three kids, the youngest is 3. I look awful, like an egg on legs. My self esteem is at rock bottom, husband has cheated on me and every time I see my reflection I'm reminded of a pantomime dame. Pre kids I was never a super fit person, but I had a waist and didn't look like Humpty Dumpty. Why isn't working out changing my shape?

Shelvesoutofbooks Tue 13-Jun-17 17:58:50

Might sounds stupid but have you changed your diet?

juneau Tue 13-Jun-17 18:02:23

Are you a healthy weight? Because if you're overweight and an 'apple' shape then you're going to carry that weight around your middle. The answer in that case is to lose weight.

bloodymaria Tue 13-Jun-17 18:08:25

With respect, would you consider ditching the husband? A cheater will never be good for your self esteem and without that stress in your life it may be easier to feel good about yourself.

WRT exercise, cardio to bring your weight down combined with lots of crunches and core strengthening moves maybe? There are loads of videos on youtube and I knowing difficult to fit in around kids etc but even 10 mins daily will make a big difference if you can get into the habit.

Intransige Tue 13-Jun-17 18:09:29

This is often due to a distasis recti that hasn't corrected.

The usual advice is to stop doing any exercises that use your outer abdominal muscles, like crunches and sit ups. And try to lock your core before picking anything heavy up or pushing a buggy.

Do a lot of deep core exercises instead - e.g. pelvic floor exercises, mutu system, some Pilates exercises (head on the floor if lying down). This type of thing.