Talk

Advanced search

Revisiting where I fell...

(13 Posts)
timshortfforthalia Mon 12-Jun-17 19:07:17

A couple of months ago I fell really badly when running. Big internal bleeding, really knocked my confidence. Was going fast (for me!) downhill, have no idea how it happened. Just was suddenly on ground.
It was on pavement and the shock of the hardness of the ground still scares me.

I've mainly been on treadmill and trail since then, but did run my first marathon (very slowly), a fortnight ago. That was on tarmac and I didn't fall over.

I'm thinking about my run tomorrow and really want to do the 5m route where I fell, but I'm really need nervous.

Come tell me to pull myself together!

lljkk Mon 12-Jun-17 21:12:09

you can do this. flowers

ScarlettDarling Mon 12-Jun-17 21:22:25

I have huge sympathy. I'm not a proper runner (I can just about manage 5k,) but a few months ago I fell down and landed like a ton of bricks. I didn't do any serious damage, nothing like your scary internal bleeding. But I had suspected cracked ribs, a cut head, skinned knees and hands and everything hurt. It knocked my confidence for weeks.

It sounds like you're a serious runner, you know you can do this route again. Take it really slowly on the downhill bit-even walk it if it makes you feel better. Good luck.

fudgefeet Mon 12-Jun-17 21:27:46

It can take a while to get over the shock of a traumatic fall. You would probably be safer now doing that run than you ever were because you are more aware of the risk. Just go a little slower and and don't let yourself get distracted.
I fell over outside my house just over a year ago which damaged my knee and chipped off half a front tooth. Even now I lift my feet up a little more when going up my road and there were no hazards. I fell over my own feet.

elevenclips Mon 12-Jun-17 21:28:58

Could you walk it instead?

elevenclips Mon 12-Jun-17 21:29:18

I mean so you can look at it

OuchBollocks Mon 12-Jun-17 21:31:42