Talk

Advanced search

Exercise to support half marathon training?

(18 Posts)
JeanGenie23 Sat 14-Jan-17 07:15:19

Morning,
I just wanted to ask if anyone does any additional exercise when training for a half marathon. I am following a plan I found via my chosen charity and it is going really well, but I wandered if I could do more to boost my fitness, perhaps something like HIIT or Zumba?
I do an odd bit of yoga before and after a run but I'm no expert. I just found some videos online blush
Any advice is gratefully received!

Fridayschild Sat 14-Jan-17 07:21:00

I have an app called Yoga For Runners which has a pre run and post run routine - great to make sure I stretch. The post run sequence is 15 minutes long. It's by a Canadian called Tania. Her free app doesn't have the sequences so you need to shell out 69p for it.

MakingMerry Sat 14-Jan-17 07:35:40

Morning!

You don't want high intensity, you will be putting enough pressure on your joints from the mileage. The most likely problem you will have with longer distance running is injury from over-training, so don't increase that risk. If you want to improve your speed then interval training, in one or more of your existing sessions, is the way to go.

Swimming is a good, low impact, weight bearing exercise. Cycling is the classic cross-training for running, as it exercises the same muscle groups but with much less impact. Yoga, if you know what you're doing, can be useful, but I don't overdo it. In the past I've put myself out of running for eighteen months through a knee injury created by running, but exacerbated by yoga (and this was in a class with an experienced teacher.)

In general, I would suggest you're better off slightly under-trained and making it to the start line, than going all out in training and hurting yourself, especially if this is your first half.

SomewhatIdiosyncratic Sat 14-Jan-17 11:24:54