Talk

Advanced search

starting running - how ambitious to be?

(12 Posts)
Sweetpeasandcarrots Thu 17-Mar-16 11:35:00

I'd like to start running in the street 2 - 3 times a week. I've done no exercise for the last 14 years !! I'm not overweight or unwell. I have a lot of enthusiasm but no experience!

Realistically, how long will it take me to reach a stage where I can run for an hour / hour and a half in one session?

And realistically how long does it take til you can say something really impressive like "I'm training for a half-marathon"? Are we talking years?!

Twinkie1 Thu 17-Mar-16 12:17:29

Look up couch to 5k. It's a really good way of starting running.

Once you've done that you can do bridge to 10k and so on.

It'll take 3 months I reckon for you to run 5k quickly and efficiently then progress at your own rate.

CMOTDibbler Thu 17-Mar-16 12:36:59

Start with couch to 5k and work up from there - theres lots of training plans online for 10k/half marathons once you are confidently running for half an hour.
I started C25K in April 2013, did a 10k in the July, then a half marathon in the September. Doing my first marathon next month, but I've done triathlons, HM, duathlons and 10ks since

Sweetpeasandcarrots Thu 17-Mar-16 12:42:53

This is really encouraging. Thank you so much

PurpleDaisies Thu 17-Mar-16 12:45:21

It's much better to start slow and build up gradually that go all out and get injured. Make sure you've got proper shoes and a good bra.

Couch to 5k is brilliant. If you get on well with it you could look for a local park run.

suzannecaravaggio Thu 17-Mar-16 15:13:40

Realistically, how long will it take me to reach a stage where I can run for an hour / hour and a half in one session?
people respond at different rates and to different degree's but if you get out and do it regularly and consistently you will improve

anotherusernameugh Thu 17-Mar-16 15:15:29