Talk

Advanced search

Overweight and running

(8 Posts)
MissMalteser Sun 07-Jun-15 21:24:06

Hi everyone I am a complete novice to more or less any type of exercise but have taken the plunge and purchased a treadmill which I'm determined won't end up as a clothes hanger!
I am very overweight at the minute at around 14 and a half stone so I am also tackling my diet which is coming along nicely but I also am shocked at how little I can complete on the treadmill.
At the start I could only manage around 15 minutes but have worked up to 25 every day, I also can only manage to run in 2.5 minute increments, so 2.5 at 7.5k speed then 2.5 at 6k, in 25 minutes I am averaging only 2.5 distance in total but I know I am pushing myself as when I get off I am totally sweating and seeing stars!
I am just hoping for some reassurance that this is enough? I would ideally like to be able to manage half an hour every day but with focus on increasing the overall speed and distance I can cover?

Wobblystraddle Sun 07-Jun-15 21:32:11

That sounds awesome - well done so far. It takes real determination to get where you have got.

I'd recommend trying the same overall amount in time running, but make the length of time you run for a little longer e.g. 3 minutes at 7.5k, with 2 at 6k, gradually increasing running time and decreasing walking time. See couch25k fir an idea of how to do this.

MissMalteser Sun 07-Jun-15 21:49:20

Thanks for the advice wobbly, I am definitely determined, it's only been just over 2 weeks but I genuinely feel the benefit already in weight loss, energy levels etc
I just have no idea if I'm going the right way to keep pushing myself and also for weight loss which is definitely my main motivation for now!

Wobblystraddle Sun 07-Jun-15 21:53:43

I think you are smile

Singleandproud Sun 07-Jun-15 22:02:46