Talk

Advanced search

Anyone have a fitbit synced to mfp?

(10 Posts)
Glomerulus Wed 07-Jan-15 16:54:47

If so I have a question! I've been using mfp for a few years now and recently got a fitbit. When I set it up and synced the app to mfp it said to keep logging my food diary and exercise through mfp - fair enough, I've read that fitbit struggles with certain exercise, such as cycling, etc.

So do I keep wearing the fitbit while exercising? I did a spin class earlier this week and I feel like it's double counting iykwim - surely it picks up on all the jiggling about?! confused

Any advice appreciated!

hedwig2001 Wed 07-Jan-15 17:19:21

I got a fitbit one for Christmas.
You log the times of exercise on the fitbit app/website. It then knows to ignore the steps etc during that time.

Glomerulus Wed 07-Jan-15 19:13:12

Thanks hedwig - I must be doing something wrong as I just went for a run, logged my start and finish times on mfp and my steps have jumped up on fitbit - even though it's recognised that I was running at the time!

Maybe I'm overthinking this...

letsplaynice Thu 08-Jan-15 22:27:43

I think if you're running it puts those steps in it did when I manually added a walk.

I'm totally confused cos ive got it on the tough program and its telling me I'm burning 2800 calories a day and I can eat 1800, surely that can't be right I won't loose anything!!

Glomerulus Fri 09-Jan-15 21:01:51

I'm with you letsplay, I'm finding it all very confusing! Not sure what weight/height you are but 1800 calls isn't going to lead to any significant weight loss. To be honest, I'm not sure fitbit is adding a whole lot on top of mfp, but I'll stick with it for now!

HappenstanceMarmite Sun 11-Jan-15 11:53:10

I got a Fitbit Charge a couple of days ago. About to go to the gym but I WANT it to count my steps on the treadmill so it looks good on my stats But I don't understand why I should turn it off at this point...or should I?

Glomerulus Sun 11-Jan-15 12:54:41