Talk

Advanced search

running to loose weight.

(13 Posts)
Twotinygirls Tue 09-Dec-14 19:11:02

Hi.
I'm new to running, been doing excersize classes but have recently given up my gym membership.
Anyway basically I'm after stories of weight loss through running, how often / long do you run?
I'm also doing slimming world (after Christmas smile)
My goal is the great south run next October...Eek.

Bellejessleo Tue 09-Dec-14 19:16:28

I love running, am pregnant with dc3 at the moment so not doing much, but when I first started I did couch to 5k and then ran 5k 3-4 times per week for a few years. I lost about 1 stone, but the difference in my figure was amazing, toned legs and slim hips. It's very stress relieving too. Can't wait to start up again!!

iwantginsoakedXmas Tue 09-Dec-14 19:21:02

I wish I could share my stories about losing weight whilst running. It seems to be the opposite for me..

I have had a couple of months off running due to injury - but have been following weight watchers religiously(product tester!). I have lost loads of weight despite no running ..

Plan to go back to it this week - so hopefully a combo of exercise and the ww will shed more.

Just be aware and don't eat more to compensate for the exercise calories. It's always burning less than you might think smile

Twotinygirls Tue 09-Dec-14 19:22:25

Ooh i like the sound of toned legs and slim hips. So if i run every other day that would be good? I know I like running, it's so relaxing and I listen to womans hour! But I so want to see some results.

Twotinygirls Tue 09-Dec-14 19:23:58

Yes I'm definitely guilty of stuffing my face as a reward for excersize. The next few weeks are probably a right off but come Jan the eating has to stop.

emummy Wed 10-Dec-14 07:59:39

OP I listen to Women's Hour when running, thought it was just me! Yes, you o have to watch what you eat as ell. The running will certainly tone muscles and make you feel good. Good luck!

ALittleFaith Wed 10-Dec-14 17:27:25