Talk

Advanced search

Does anybody run with asthma?

(9 Posts)
sniffle12 Sun 09-Nov-14 19:00:39

I'm really struggling in the cold weather. As long as I'm just walking fast I don't get an attack but as soon as I start running, however slow, it comes on. I take reliever before running and as soon as I feel it coming on but to no avail. I've tried warming up slowly as well, walking for 5 mins first then interspersing walking and running for a bit before running properly. Any tips at all? I've signed up for a fun run and I really want to be able to run the whole thing or most of it.

Sparkky Mon 10-Nov-14 06:12:41

Message withdrawn at poster's request.

BlueChampagne Mon 10-Nov-14 13:12:40

I do, but maybe it's colder where you are than where I am (E Anglia). Is it worth booking an asthma review?

Sidge Mon 10-Nov-14 13:14:10

Your limited exercise tolerance would suggest your asthma isn't controlled.

Make an appointment for a review.

(I'm an asthma nurse!)

sniffle12 Mon 10-Nov-14 18:46:11

*Your limited exercise tolerance would suggest your asthma isn't controlled.

Make an appointment for a review.

(I'm an asthma nurse!)*

Thanks, sounds silly but this hadn't actually occurred to me! My other main trigger is animal dander and as I don't have pets I suppose I might have been supposing my asthma's under control when it actually just isn't being tested. I probably am due a review. Nice to think that I could possibly exercise more comfortable.

northernmummeh Mon 10-Nov-14 18:50:55

Yup I do. And struggle with extremes in temperature. Really really cold and really really warm.

If medication isn't doing the job it would suggest it's not controlled so I'd get it checked with your asthma nurse/practice nurse. I was also told at my last appointment that taking a reliever every time I run before I go is a no no and causes more damage long term and is also another indicator that it's not as controlled as it should be so they reviewed my meds.