Talk

Advanced search

When do you start to see & feel the benefits?

(6 Posts)
PhoebeMcPeePee Tue 04-Nov-14 15:43:14

I've been exercising regularly for 2 months (2-3 x a week for the first month now 4 x / week) and I still seem out of breath on my run, struggle cycling up hills or more than about 15km & can't tell a difference in my shape (weight loss from diet aside).

Am I Expecting too much too soon or do I need to change my routine (run, 2 cycles & a class)

Momagain1 Tue 04-Nov-14 22:06:07

Do you still struggle because you are, in fact, going faster/working harder?

PhoebeMcPeePee Tue 04-Nov-14 22:29:33

I don't feel like I am particularly but I guess I could be. Today for example I did a 16km hilly ride that I first did 3 weeks ago & whilst I was a few minutes faster, I couldn't get any further up the hills & definitely didn't have much left in my legs by the end of it but was really hoping I'd notice a difference. And my bottom/legs are still so bloody wobbly smile

TaraKnowles Tue 04-Nov-14 22:33:17

Do you have muscle fatigue afterwards? Or are you sore the next day?

Momagain1 Tue 04-Nov-14 23:18:13

Faster is stronger! Yay! Are you doing a program, like the couch 2 5 k running program, building up gradually with sprints in stuff? Do cyclists do that? I dont know? I know with the running, they advise if you want to go further, you must slow down, you might end up 'running' at a walking pace. But once you know you can do the distance, then you start going faster.

Judging from threads like this on various other social media: some annoying people look astoundingly different in a short time, others change so gradually it isnt noticeable until it is very noticeable. That would be me.

Suzannewithaplan Wed 05-Nov-14 01:57:28