Talk

Advanced search

What's your normal gym routine?

(9 Posts)
YarnyStasher Mon 10-Mar-14 08:23:59

I'm fairly new to this and still trying to work it all out. I'd be interested to hear what you all do.

Here's my usual routine:
Warm up - 5 minutes bike
10 minutes rowing machine (hard)
Treadmill - 3 minutes steady, 4 min hard, 4 min steady, 4 min hard, 4 min cool down

I'm not particularly trying to lose weight or tone up. Just want a good cardio work out so I'm fitter.

Suzannewithaplan Mon 10-Mar-14 12:41:44

One hour weights, one hour cardio.
Cardio is treadmill and cross trainer, some intervals some constant pace depending on how I feel

Sleepwhenidie Mon 10-Mar-14 12:58:18

5 mins hill walk (9+% incline) on treadmill to warm up
20-25 mins weights with spurts of cardio in between sets
HIIT - either stairclimber 1 min very hard, 1 min steady for 12-15 mins or 1 tabata session (4 mins)
Some core strength work on TRX
Stretching.

I do warm up for 10 mins on rower, cross trainer or treadmill just to get HR up.

55 mins routine on TRX straps
Then 20 mins weights and about 20 mins abs - with a little bit of a cardio blast in the middle for 1 min at a time
10 mins on rower/cross trainer
Finish off with 5 mins stretching.

That's a typical routine for me.

MandMand Tue 11-Mar-14 13:27:50

Cycle to gym - 10 mins
Run 5K on treadmill or 30 mins interval routine on cross trainer
30 mins weights
Cycle home

YarnyStasher Tue 11-Mar-14 13:57:56

Goodness. I'm usually in the gym for just less than an hour. And most people at our local gym (that I've seen) are there for less time than me.

kaizen Tue 11-Mar-14 14:06:37

i do warm up on treadmill, rowing sprints for 2 minutes and kettlebell routine upper and lower body and press ups - repeat circuit four times, and finish with 2 x 2 minutes plank. Takes about 30 minutes. Alongside this I do 2 Km swims every day and run or cycle. Oh and yoga or pilates.

But I work next to the gym and don't have a family.....