Talk

Advanced search

Can anyone advise about weight training at the gym?

(19 Posts)
Cwm Wed 24-Aug-11 18:53:11

Message withdrawn at poster's request.

Cwm Thu 25-Aug-11 09:02:17

ceebeegeebies Thu 25-Aug-11 09:05:36

I am not an expert but do a lot of weights at the gym alongside cardio work. The advice I have been given is that you should do 8-12 reps x 3 of whatever exercise - once you can do 3 x 12 reps reasonably easily, you need to put the weights up to the next weight and start again (chances are you would only be able to do 3 x 8 reps at this point) and gradually build up and then move up again.

Does that make sense? More reps at lower weights does not tone - it is fairly pointless.

I am dashing off to work now but I will try and get some more information about why you need to do heavier weights later on today smile

LostGirl Thu 25-Aug-11 09:46:30

ceebeegeebies is right AFAIK, more reps at a lower weight is pretty pointless. The idea is to choose the correct weight for whichever rep range you are working in. If you are doing 3 sets of 15 then you need to choose a weight where you should be struggling to complete the 15 reps in the last set. If you are doing 5 sets of 5 then again you need to choose a weight that you can only just complete the 5 reps with. Fewer reps= heavier weight=longer rest time between sets. This will help to build the strength in your muscles. Higher reps= shorter rest between sets. This will help to increase your muscles endurance. Ideally you need to change your programme every 3-4 weeks to keep challenging your body, and to work across different rep ranges. You will probably only feel sore (DOMS) after the first time you do a new programme and you are working your muscles in a slightly different way to what they are used to. Just because you are not sore does not mean it wasn't an effective workout.