Talk

Advanced search

ongoing achilles problems

(10 Posts)
Fresheye Tue 16-Aug-11 19:14:09

Just wondered if anyone could give me any advice on an ongoing achilles heel problem.
Ive been running off and on for about 3 years. The problem first started about 2 years ago when i started training for a half marathon. As i increased my mileage in training up to about 10 miles my achillies started playing up but stupidly i carried on hoping it would disappear (i know, i know!)
I ended up having to withdraw from the race and didnt run for a few months. I then paid for orthotics (expensive!) started running again but the same thing happened. I then paid for a physio who gave me lots of exercises and hand made some orthotics using foam and tape but the achilles pain started playing up during every day activites such as walking.
I stopped running again but ive ended up getting a ballot place in the 2012 london marathon and really want to do it. I went out for a run this evening, just two miles, with achilles strap, orthotics and a heel lift and i can feel it aching already!
Do I just need to accept that my body cant handle running? I really dont want this to be the case but also dont want my stubborness to cause a major injury either!
Any help or advice much appreciated. TIA

Fresheye Tue 16-Aug-11 19:44:21

bump

Fresheye Tue 16-Aug-11 21:40:20

No one? sad

MrsWednesday Tue 16-Aug-11 21:48:16

What sort of stretches are you doing? Do you do any icing or anything else? If it keeps happening it sounds like there is an imbalance somewhere, did your physio look at your hips or calves? What about your trainers, have you tried different types? I found ASICS caused me achilles problems (or made them worse) but am fine with Brooks.

Sorry for all the questions!