Talk

Advanced search

How do you know if youre doing too much?

(11 Posts)
mosschops30 Thu 02-Jun-11 17:41:03

because at the moment i seem to be constantly in pain. But i do look amazing so its working grin

On a normal week i either work with my trainer (fat burn, squats, lunges, weights, core) or i'll do his tailored workout in the gym.
The pain in my muscles from this normally lasts about 3-4 days.
Then i do a body combat class, which again leaves me aching for another two days.
Then a swim another day.
Plus walking to and from school every day.

So is it normal to be aching this much, ive been back to exercising properly for about 3-4 weeks now.
Am i overdoing it?

mosschops30 Thu 02-Jun-11 18:43:34

Bump

MelodyMeringue Thu 02-Jun-11 22:24:59

I'm no fitness expert but it sounds like you could be doing too much.

Pain is a message from your body. Listen to it and heed it's warning. Your body is wise and will tell you what it needs.

mosschops30 Fri 03-Jun-11 15:28:42

But if you exercise and feel nothing surely youre not working the muscles?
How do you find a happy medium

Lambskin Fri 03-Jun-11 17:22:34

I'm no expert either but I work out everyday but probably in shorter bursts than you, about 45 minutes. I also intersperse the cardio and strength training with yoga and pilates which give my poor muscles a good stretch. I've built stamina and strength gradually doing this with no injuries.

WhatsWrongWithYou Fri 03-Jun-11 17:30:47

If you're coping with the pain and it's just muscular pain from the exercise rather than damage, I'd say press on, especially since you're getting results!

I went to a trainer for a while, and I could barely get down the stairs from the gym afterwards, then for nearly a week I felt as if my lower body had been beaten with a baseball bat.

Not really conducive to keeping it up, and I stopped after a few weeks, but I knew if I perservered the pain would lessen.