Talk

Advanced search

anyone up for a challange?

(11 Posts)
giraffescantdance Tue 01-Jul-08 03:42:55

Been thinking about this for a while and I REALLY want to do it.

In my local supermarket (morrisons) you can either buy a huge bunch of bananas - pre weighed with a plastic tag, a plastic bag full of bananas or a single banana on a tray with cellophane on top hmm I often just need one or 2, am so tempted to buy the one in a tray and unwrap at checkout and give tray and cellophane back!!

Im sure theres loads of other things like that but Im planning on just doing it for one thing the first time then see.

Kind of like a one woman version of this thread - www.mumsnet.com/Talk/2422/397501?pg=3 which i think was wonderful btw.

Anyone else fancy having a try of something similar this week? If you are a complete novice then maybe start of by refusing to put fruit/veg in plastic bags and declining thier offer of wrapping yoghurt in plastic bags etc. (I do this and they look at me like I am a crazy hippy) grin its great fun.

2sugars Tue 01-Jul-08 04:45:52

We don't have a Morrisons near us, so I honestly don't know the answer to this one, but do the checkout people have the ability to weigh and price food? If not, I can't see it having any effect.

Othersideofthechannel Tue 01-Jul-08 05:53:40

Interesting idea.

But wouldn't it be more effective if everyone just changed where they shop?

I have never been to a supermarket in France or GB where they have tried to put my yoghurt in plastic bags. It is already packaged in plastic or card pots.

Last time I lived near a Morrisons was 8 yrs ago. Do they really no longer sell unpackaged fruit and veg there? That is appalling. I would get my bananas somewhere else eg greengrocers or market stands where they use paper bags or would let me bring in my own plastic bags.

dylsmum1998 Tue 01-Jul-08 12:19:05