Talk

Advanced search

Best website to buy reusable shopping bags?

(30 Posts)
Lulumama Mon 04-Feb-08 16:31:14

Had a look at this site www.plasticbagfree.com

they recommend a couple of sites, but one has wildly expensive string bags... £35 each ! shock anyone know of cheaper alternatives? they canvas totes are cheap, but a bit boring. i want to be ethical and funky grin

one site has been trying to load for 15 minutes..hmm

any thoughts?

lostandlonely Mon 04-Feb-08 16:33:07

think there was a company called the string bag company?

Lulumama Mon 04-Feb-08 16:34:02

have googled and found a string bag lady, but she is having a gap year grin
thank you though !

greenday Mon 04-Feb-08 16:42:04

I've been using Onya bags for a couple of years now and they still serve me very well. they are made from recycled parachute material and can carry 4 times the weight of a normal shopping bag. They fold oh-so easily and are so convenient to bring around. Highly recommended! They should show up on Google.

Lulumama Mon 04-Feb-08 17:02:41

Thanks, will have a look, found some string bags for £6.50 each in pretty colours too !

NorksDrift Mon 04-Feb-08 17:08:40

This place has some nice bags.

Lulumama Mon 04-Feb-08 17:43:18

thank you , norks, they look pretty !

the onya bag site was down.

sophy Mon 04-Feb-08 19:28:45

Turtle Bags:

www.turtlebags.co.uk/_wsn/page2.html

Lulumama Mon 04-Feb-08 19:35:33

thanks sophy, i had found that site before, but it was refusing to load. it is working now, and just what i am looking for. thank you

paow Tue 05-Feb-08 13:23:13

Hi, I saw the best bag with bags ever called trolley dolly, it has mesh bags, bags for every ocassion inside one single one that fits into your handbag, really want one! will have to wait until pay day.
check out www.zpm.com

greenecomum Sat 01-Mar-08 13:57:13

Organic cotton string bags are sold for £5 each by www.ecoproductsuk.co.uk smile.
They also sell a pack of 6 string bags for £26.50.