Talk

Advanced search

Who was the person who does freelance marketing work? Just want to ask you something?

(15 Posts)
vicdubya Tue 19-Jul-05 12:03:29

Whoever you are - sorry I can't remember at all - you posted once on a thread about looking for part time work.

You do freelance marketing work. If you don't mind, I've a couple of questions!

vicdubya Tue 19-Jul-05 20:43:01

katierocket Tue 19-Jul-05 20:53:03

I do freelance PR, not sure if that's any help

wordsmith Tue 19-Jul-05 20:58:29

Could be me - fire away

wordsmith Tue 19-Jul-05 21:10:57

Are you there? I'm going to watch telly in a bit.....

vicdubya Tue 19-Jul-05 21:21:39

Oh oops sorry hi KR & Wordsmith.

I don't think it was either of you... But, thanks for responding!

I am moving soon and will be looking for part time work when we move.

Before having ds I worked in sales / marketing and also speak 2 european languages.

I posted originally with a question about how easy it would be to find part time work because everything I see advertised is full time.

Someone replied that they did freelance work and at the time I thought, oh that would be really difficult to do & didn't think much more of it.

Anyway since then someone contacted me who I used to work with and offered me some freelance work, just a few hours, but it was so well paid, I couldn't refuse it. It was mainly market research and some translation (although my language skills are not really good enough to offer proper translation service). I also enjoyed doing it and thought, well maybe I could do this after all.

So what I really wanted to know was, if you do this type of thing..

1) what type of of work do you do
2) what was your background / experience prior to working freelance
3) How easy / difficult was it to get started and how did you go about it
4) what sort of rate do you charge