Talk

Advanced search

argh just realised i won't get mat. allowance

(14 Posts)
babyonboard Wed 22-Jun-05 12:44:43

i was a student until may this year so didn't work and am now (being obviously pregnant!) finding it impossible to get a job...even short term agency work. i assumed i would be entitled to maternity allowance when the tot is born in october, but have just looked into it and you need to have worked for 26 weeks before the baby is born to claim. am now worried sick as we live in london which is very expensive and my b/f only earns £12'000 per year. we are fairly young, and so have barely any savings..will i be entitled to anything at all or am i on my own with this?

runtus Wed 22-Jun-05 12:50:14

You may be eligible for some Incapacity benefit or other allowance. I would suggest you go down to the CAB and ask them to calculate your entitlements.

Twiglett Wed 22-Jun-05 12:51:28

you need to have worked for 26 weeks within the last 3 years and you can pick the 26 weeks to be judged to get maternity allowance .. does that help at all?

otherwise sorry

babyonboard Wed 22-Jun-05 12:56:14

ooh..that may well help, i did work full time for 3 months last summer, and for a month over christmas, plus 6 months two sumers back..
unfortunately my cab are terrible...they only have appointments, and you have to phone to make one, yet during the times their phonline is open you can never get through, last month i had over £5 worth of calls to their number by getting an anserphone everytime. I think there is an independent benefits rights charity in my area, so i will try to see them.

TrophyWife Wed 22-Jun-05 13:00:59

you need to get down to your local social security office and have a word with them, my work place wouldnt pay me mat pay as i only had a contract of 12 hours p/w, but i got it from the SS,. you might be able to. esp if you have been in full-time edc.

babyonboard Wed 22-Jun-05 13:13:32