Talk

Advanced search

Is it usual for the private business sector to take a long time from giving a sucessful candidate

(9 Posts)
Anonymumandlikeit Tue 18-Aug-09 20:57:27

A starting date?

My db has recently graduated and following a lengthy interview and selection process was the sucessful candidate for a graduate training scheme with a well known company.

I work in the public sector and following getting a job the start dates and confirmation and contract have all been prettty speedy.

db was interviewed a month ago and received an e-mail to say he had been sucessful.After hearing nothing for a week he e-mailed the company back who told him the person who dealt with the hr stuff was away onholiday for a week.That was 3 weeks ago and he hasn't heard anytrhing else.

He has been in bed with the pig flu for a week and a half,and has yet again e-mailed them but with no reply.Is this lengthy silence a normal thing for private business or should he be getting concerned?

I have suggested he tries to find the company phone no and ring their hr people,or would this be too pushy?

All previous correspondence has been done by e-mail.

CMOTdibbler Tue 18-Aug-09 21:00:01

I'd be very concerned - has he not had a contract ?

This happened to a friend - accepted a job, put her flat on the market to relocate, was fobbed off on start date a few times. Then they told her that, actually, they didn't need her after all

Anonymumandlikeit Tue 18-Aug-09 21:22:52

Oh CMOT

i really really hope this isn't the case for db

He has had 4 other interviews where he has got to the top 8 or so usually out of a 1000 or so applicants (has a good degree and has worked and taught abroad as part of it,is linguist and business grad) He was sosso made up about finally being told he was sucessful

i just wondered if it were different in private sector as the public sector,depite their many faults,are actually very onthe ball about recruitment stuff.

WhatFreshHellIsThis Tue 18-Aug-09 21:26:26