Talk

Advanced search

Dispute over SMP pay due to childcare vouchers - please help

(25 Posts)
hindsightisgreat Mon 29-Jun-09 15:36:24

I really need any help/advice anyone can give me as i just don't know what to do

I've been working for the same employer for 8 years, started of as full time but moving to part-time when my son was born in Feb '05. Since i returned to work part time (4 years ago) my son has attended nursery & i've taken part in the company busybee childcare voucher scheme.

I told my boss at the begining of Jan this year that i was expecting again & baby was due 13/07/09. Didn't think anything more of it.

Anyway, done all the usual MAT1B form etc & told them that i would like SMP to start from 1st June & take my accrued a/l at the end of my maternity leave so i would affectively return at the begining of April '10.

Had NO contact from HR re advice/guidance on implications of childcare vouchers whilst on SMP etc so blindly believed i would get 90% of my FULL monthly salary for the first 6 weeks then the standard SMP rate of £123 per wk for the remaining 33 weeks etc.

So you can imagine my shock when i rec'd my June pay packet to see that they've paid me FAR less than i expected because of the childcare vouchers. Basically because of that i'm going to be £35 a week worse of for the WHOLE of my maternity leave.

Having now researched this i see that they are right in that they have to work it out on my salary AFTER my childcare vouchers have been deducted not BEFORE. However my argument is that at no point did anyone in HR advise me on this - had i of known this i would have come out of the childcare voucher scheme for the 2 months qualifyng period to ensure i got the full amount i was expecting.

I sent my boss & my HR department an email last week to say how disappointed i was at their lack of advice & guidance on this issue & how i am now considerably out of pocket because of it.