Talk

Advanced search

shift pattern changed im 9 weeks pregnant

(8 Posts)

Hi all wondered if someone can help me please....

I work in a restaurant and work shifts. For the last year i have always worked late shifts 2-10 or 3-10 and i only work part time, 4 shifts a week. I requested my previous manager only put me on lates as that was my availability except for weekend when i was not to fussed.

The rota has always been worked so i get 2 days of in a row and never work 4 shifts in a row without a day of. (i get tired easily before i was pregnant now im shattered!)

Having checked the rota my manager has now changed this completely without talking to me, and has put me on 4 shifts in a row, one of them being a 2-10 and then 6:30-3 the next day which means i only get 8 hours in between shifts to come home and sleep, shes done this for 2 weeks in a row.

Problem is im on a zero contracted hours and she is refusing to accept any dates i want to start my maternity leave said i have to take it 'week by week' and still has not dfone a risk assessment and i dont think she will do this till im 20 weeks and can get proof of pregnancy. I cant approach the manager as she is the type of manager who scream very loudly if anyone is against her decisions and it feels like she is trying to push me out and make me leave by giving me these awful shifts.. I can't see why the change after a whole year?? I physically wont be able to do 4 shifts in a row esp combines with tiredness and morning sickness.

Also have a feeling the reason she will not let me tell her when i want to start maternity leave, is that 3 other supervisers have booked leave for early december which is when i plan on starting my maternity leave, can she refuse me? I had planned on saving up my annual leave so i can leave earlier as its a physical busy job.

Sorry to have rambles i hope it makes some sense. thanks.

gscrym Mon 15-Jun-09 13:12:02