Talk

Advanced search

I have found a lovely nanny so what to I do next to sort out paying her tax /NI - and should I use a company or is it easy-peasy

(16 Posts)
itsnotatoy Mon 22-Sep-08 17:02:53

I haven't done this before so am pretty clueless. She will be starting in 2 weeks, doing 2 full days a week and I will be paying £80 net a day. Do I just call up the tax people? And how do I figure out what the overall cost to me will be?

She will in time be looking for work the other 3 days and I know that there is some issue with only one employer taking the allowance. Is there anything else I need to know about?

And is it easier to just hand it over to one of those companies?

Finally - whenabouts do you make the payments - as you go along or at the end of the tax year? I'm panicing a little now about my cashflow in first few months

thanks

poppy34 Mon 22-Sep-08 17:06:37

I am an accountant and I'd pay a company to do it -its too complicated to run through yourself unless you've got time on your hands. You need to pay over the tax strictly by the 19th of the following month and do year end returns etc.

I think nannytax has more info on this type of thing - can also check hmrc website if you want to work out if you want to do ti yourself (you can I believe file and pay online which may help you if you are keen on doing it yourself).

FioFio Mon 22-Sep-08 17:08:23

Message withdrawn

nowwearefour Mon 22-Sep-08 17:08:34

have you signed contracts? whatever you do dont sign for a net pay amount. we pay our nanny ourselves. dh says it is easy.....

itsnotatoy Mon 22-Sep-08 17:14:52

gosh such quick replies. No I haven't signed the contract so that's why I need to figure out what the gross figure will be.

I have a few days to work it out, but she is coming round later so it would be useful to know if I need her to supply anything as well as NI, P45 from her last job etc.

poppy34 Mon 22-Sep-08 17:19:39