Talk

Advanced search

Advice needed from lecturers/academics!

(22 Posts)
Kake Tue 09-Sep-08 12:31:20

I am a postdoc, and have recently applied for a lecturer post in the social sciences. I've got an interview which is brilliant but I have a real dilemma, in that I really don't want to work full-time. So, should I disclose this in the interview and see what they say? Or, if I was lucky enough to get the job, what are the chances of working FT for a while and then negotiating down? Also, do any lecturers/academics out there work PT but on special contracts - perhaps term-time working only, for example. Finally, do any academics who work full-time find that during the holidays when they are not teaching, they have flexibility to spend more time with their children, or is that time fully engaged with research etc?

Sorry for all these questions but I'd be really grateful for any advice at all! Thanks in advance.

Jazzicatz Tue 09-Sep-08 12:38:13

I am in a similar position to you as a post doc - all the jobs I have applied for are full-time. Occasioanlly part-time jobs come up but essentially they are full time especially during term time. From experience most of the lecturers 'work from home' during the holidays, which allows for some freedom but they are required to attend meetings or any other admin required by the university. I wouldn't mention wanting to work part-time as however tight on they think they are, academia is still mainly frequented by male academics who are not primary care providors.

WilfSell Tue 09-Sep-08 12:43:51

It depends how much you want the job. Most jobs are advertised FT and it is quite unusual for academics to be PT but not unknown.

But it can be difficult to manage the workload especially in a research active dept.