Talk

Advanced search

what can i do?quite long

(10 Posts)
noddyholder Mon 07-Feb-05 12:39:33

Hello as some of you know from my posts I have had 2 kidney transplants and have a heart condition but feel generally ok day to day.before all this I worked in interior design but have now accepted that I won't be able to work full time at that again as my health and hospital appts just won't allow it.The thing is I am bored senseless at home and ds is now 10.I still love property etc and there are 7 estate agents within 2 mins of my house and I was thinking of approaching them to offer my services (oo er)answering the phone admin etc as i know lots about this and tbh i just want to get out of the house and be with adults even once a week.I am not looking to earn money as I am on benefits due to my heart but am allowed to earn about 20 pounds a week as therapeutic earnings Do you think anyone would have me?I have a degree and always worked before i got ill but am in a predicament.Dp tells me to chill out and please myself as i have had a rough time but I really need to do something in the real world I feel I am being left behind What do you wise people think?

slug Mon 07-Feb-05 12:48:47

You have my sympathy. I went back to work when dd was 3 months old, not because I needed to, but because being home drove me cross eyed with boredom. Have you thought of offering your time to the local school to help with reading or art? My mother did that for a while. She wasn't paid but it was an opportunity to get out of the house and if she couldn't come in to work (because of hospital appointments) it wasn't such a huge issue.

SenoraPostrophe Mon 07-Feb-05 12:55:26

well you don't know until you ask.

But how about voluntary work? The local volunteer's bureau may have some officy type voluntary jobs. Might be more rewarding than answering the phones for an estate agent.

noddyholder Mon 07-Feb-05 12:56:37