Talk

Advanced search

Contract changing and I want to rant

(14 Posts)
batters Thu 03-Feb-05 12:27:33

Message withdrawn at poster's request.

Easy Thu 03-Feb-05 12:30:26

I'm not a lawyer, but I thought an employer couldn't force you to sign a new contract while in service, if you don't agree to it.

Or have you always been re-contracted every year?

Frizbe Thu 03-Feb-05 12:30:44

perfectly acceptable rant, I would feel exactly the same {{hugs}}

Pamina3 Thu 03-Feb-05 13:13:57

Prufrock Thu 03-Feb-05 22:07:17

Batters are you sure they can do this? I'm thought that if it is your employer not allowing you to work BH because they are closed then this cannot be taken off your annual leave entitlement (But I don't really know what I am talking about)
If it is correct, is there anyway you canchange your working days?

weightwatchingwaterwitch Thu 03-Feb-05 22:15:29

Oh no Batters, this sounds a PITA. Have you spoken to the union? I hope someone else can be more helpful.

SenoraPostrophe Thu 03-Feb-05 22:35:33

b*stards. Don't suppose you can swap to another day?

I misread this thread title as "contract killing..." That would be going a bit far though.

Potty1 Thu 03-Feb-05 22:50:03

My understanding is that
a) if you are staff taken over by a new employer that they have to honour your conditions of service for a certain length of time - probably why they are just getting around to changing it now.

b) they can change your conditions of service with three months notice, often whether you like it/agree to it or not

I once had my conditions changed from 35 hours over 5 days a week between 9 and 6 to 35 hours over any 7 days 8 til 8 and couldn't do a damn thing about it. Except resign, which I did.

batters Fri 04-Feb-05 09:00:28

sis Fri 04-Feb-05 13:17:52