Difficult Colleagues

(10 Posts)
Frolicinameadow Thu 14-Jan-21 13:51:02

I’m hoping for some sage advice here.

I had a promotion at work a while back. There was someone doing a similar role previously and when they left it was re-jigged in terms of the responsibilities. So while it’s under the same title the role itself is different in duties and responsibilities.
It’s a small company, so no training as such, more of a look and learn/hit the ground running.
Since I took the role there have been things I haven’t known how to do and I’m happy to ask for help so I can learn.
However, there are 2 women who are making everything really difficult. They refuse to share information, but then when I don’t know the information they get annoyed at me, they fuss and shout and stomp around the office and then send emails cc’ing everyone at management level.

I have addressed this with them several times and asked them what exactly their issue is, that I am still learning (as is expected in this role) but if they won’t info share I can’t be expected to know these things.
The crux of the issue is they think I’m too young for the role and I don’t know the business well enough and they don’t like that I’m now at the same level as them in the business structure.
There’s maybe a 10-15 year age difference.
The business has gone through massive changes since I took my role but the two things are not related in any way. I haven’t implemented the changes and I’m not a decision maker in the areas of change. But they keep referring to things changing and appear to be aiming their dislike of this at me.

I do my job well and my direct superior is very happy with me. But I am drained by the constant battle with these two. They also run to the MD telling every little thing and while he might question my version of it and then brush it off, the constant telling tales like children is undermining me and I feel it’s bringing negative attention to me that isn’t warranted.