Asking for a promotion/different contract in this situation?

(5 Posts)
atomt Mon 11-Jan-21 13:16:49

I've been working for a start up since 2019 on a freelancer contract - the amount of work has been quite variable as it depends entirely on other external and internal factors. It's basically customer service and the time it takes to complete the work literally depends on whether 10 or 100 customers call or email in with an issue.

I was the first customer service hire and one of only 4 people working for the company when I joined. For some of the time there's also been another person working in the same role and I've been in effect acting as their line manager just because I was the more experienced one - so I did all their training when they started, support them with more complicated queries, etc.

The business has done well despite the pandemic and is now growing. I've seen other roles opening and being recruited for as full time salaried roles in the past six months.

I want to ask the CEO/founder (my boss) if she would consider a promotion for me - to a role that doesn't exist yet but is closely related to what I do already, just with more responsibility and basically a seat at the table. This would bring my role in line with others who've joined after me in other departments. At the moment I feel like I've been there longer, been extremely loyal and committed, and still find myself in a junior level role as an "assistant" when others have joined as "manager" in different departments.