Talk

Advanced search

Furlough ending, casual contract

(15 Posts)
bettycat81 Fri 14-Aug-20 11:49:27

The company I work for is about to make a huge ammount of redundancies.

I work in sales and all full time staff in my grade are up for redundancy. Their furlough will currently take them up to D day.

I have a zero hours contract and have worked 2 days a week for the past 8 years having worked full time in various roles for the same company previously for many years. Our (casual staff) furlough is ending sooner than D day and we are being kept on the books with little prospect of work being available for us.

Does this seem right?

OP’s posts: |
Moondust001 Fri 14-Aug-20 13:17:19

What do you think isn't right? If you are on a zero hours contract, and assuming that contact computes with the law on zero hours, your area a worker and not an employee. So you would have no redundancy rights in law. Being kept on the books for if work became available is legal. I don't understand what you think is wrong here.

flowery Fri 14-Aug-20 13:17:56

If you’ve worked 2 days a week for them for 8 years you are not ‘casual’, whatever your contract says. You could certainly make an argument that you are an employee therefore entitled to redundancy pay.

Moondust001 Fri 14-Aug-20 13:40:42

flowery

If you’ve worked 2 days a week for them for 8 years you are not ‘casual’, whatever your contract says. You could certainly make an argument that you are an employee therefore entitled to redundancy pay.