Talk

Advanced search

Pre-employment screening panic

(24 Posts)
missyoumuch Fri 06-Mar-20 08:41:08

I've got a job offer conditional on completion of pre-employment screening.

On my CV I have listed that I worked at Company A from 2011-2014. The full detail is that I worked at Company A from 2011-2013, and in 2014 I worked for them in the same function as an external contractor because I had to relocate to another country for family reasons. I have all the contracts and invoices to prove that this was the case. In the screening questionnaire I answered honestly and have informed HR of the situation.

But as my CV doesn't say I was a contractor, it just says I was in that same role for the whole period, I am panicking that I am going to get flagged for this and they will rescind the job offer.

Anyone with experience in this who can advise? Thanks.

OP’s posts: |
PlomBear Fri 06-Mar-20 10:12:56

You’ll be fine OP. Honestly.

missyoumuch Fri 06-Mar-20 10:49:22

The screening company has asked for clarity on this issue now sad

Blueroses99 Fri 06-Mar-20 10:53:43

I’ve had the same in a role that was temp to perm. My CV lists the full duration but for screening purposes I listed both employers (I was technically employed by an agency as a temp) and gave the respective dates. No issues at all. It’s not a unusual situation.

PlomBear Fri 06-Mar-20 11:57:28

OP - then you simply tell the screening company what you told HR. CVs aren’t a legal document. I’m surprised they care about a job more than five years ago.

cologne4711 Fri 06-Mar-20 12:44:13

Well you did work at Company A for 3 years. Just tell them what you have told us. You don't have disclose on a CV whether you were FT, PT, consultant, etc.

cologne4711 Fri 06-Mar-20 12:45:45

Actually thinking about it a little more you don't need to explain yourself to the screening company at all. Just say it has been discussed with the HR team.

SoloMummy Fri 06-Mar-20 13:23:32