Talk

Advanced search

Non compete clauses

(7 Posts)
DrDreReturns Mon 27-Jan-20 20:30:41

Hello,
I am thinking of applying for a job with a direct competitor to my current company. However my contract has a non compete clause saying I can't work for any business 'which is of the same or similar type' to my employer for 12 months. Is this likely to be enforceable? 12 months seems excessively long to me. The clause does not specify any geographical restrictions, which is probably reasonable as I work in IT.
For reference I am a mid level employee, I am not a manager or a senior member of staff. I do not deal with clients or customers, I work on technical projects for my employer.
Thanks.

OP’s posts: |
flowery Mon 27-Jan-20 20:40:55

Hmm. 12 months is high, yes, and depending on your role, might be excessive and therefore unenforceable.

Basically they cannot prevent you reasonably earning a living. Can you do what you do for a company that isn't of a similar type?

Is the business genuinely likely to suffer a loss if you go to a competitor?

DrDreReturns Mon 27-Jan-20 20:43:19

Can you do what you do for a company that isn't of a similar type? Yes I can.

Is the business genuinely likely to suffer a loss if you go to a competitor? Only in terms of the inconvenience of replacing me. They won't lose any business / contacts as a consequence of me leaving.

snackarella Mon 27-Jan-20 20:49:50

Restrictive covenants like this are rarely enforceable unless in a client facing business / role.
Unless there are tech secrets to be shared?!

DrDreReturns Mon 27-Jan-20 20:53:42

Lol I haven't been involved in cutting edge development!

wibdib Mon 27-Jan-20 21:10:20