Is this out of order?

(14 Posts)
kjhkj Sat 31-Aug-19 07:56:18

If you're salaried your are NOT contracted to do as many hours as it takes to do the job! Absolute rubbish.

I didn't say that, I said if you are salaried and you are contracted to work such hours as are reasonably necessary.

This is a common clause in many senior level contracts and would be expected in roles paying more than about 30k. I draft employment contracts for a living (employment solicitor)

rookiemere Fri 30-Aug-19 14:45:08

Have you asked her what you haven't done as a result of not working unpaid overtime ?

PuppyMonkey Fri 30-Aug-19 14:15:10

I used to work at a place like this. Bosses tutting when you left a 9-5 shift at 5.30pm. Others were staying till 6 or 7pm (possibly if they hadn’t gone for lots of 20 minute fag breaks throughout the day they too might have finished on time. wink)

Shudder.

username678889 Fri 30-Aug-19 14:08:50

I agree with @Isleepinahedgefund .
I've always had to leave on time but will stay if required and with notice . It works both ways I wouldn't expect my employers to be happy if I had to suddenly leave early unless emergency so I would require notice if I have to work late .
It annoys me that some people act like a martyr that they stay late it's like the world revolves around the company it does not . It's all about a work life balance and they are being unreasonable expecting you to work late with no notice . If everything is done that is urgent then no problem.

AmIThough Fri 30-Aug-19 14:07:34

Keep working your hours. Your boss is an idiot.

If there's ever a task you can't achieve within your contracted hours, let your boss know so they can get you support.

My workplace have recently made some people redundant and those who work all hours don't get the recognition they think they do.
They were the ones first out the door.

Isleepinahedgefund Fri 30-Aug-19 13:55:18