Talk

Advanced search

Do companies ever negotiate on enhanced maternity pay?

(11 Posts)
wheresmymojo Thu 01-Aug-19 23:17:08

I'm currently an independent management consultant - with current client on a piece of work for 15 months.

Absolutely love working for them. Today one of the Directors of the business area I work in asked if I'd be interested in a perm role and to come back with the kind of salary I'd expect to see if it is do-able.

They already know I'm TTC as I've had 2 x weeks off work due to miscarriages.

All great!

Except we are hoping to TTC and have children next year and to do this I would need enhanced maternity pay. I'm not sure of their exact policy but in this industry it's usually required that you've been in your perm role for at least a year before you can have enhanced pay.

I'm the main breadwinner (by a long way) so enhanced mat pay is definitely needed; however this is a large global business and so I'm not sure how much leeway (if any) there is to negotiate this kind of change to a contract?

I'm used to negotiating working hours/pay/allowances but does anyone know if large employers will negotiate on this kind of 'standard' policy?

OP’s posts: |
Alislia17 Fri 02-Aug-19 04:27:51

Message deleted by MNHQ. Here's a link to our Talk Guidelines.

flowery Fri 02-Aug-19 06:24:51

In a big business, unlikely. They have a policy and they need to apply it consistently. Are you hoping to negotiate the maternity pay itself up, or the length of service required down? The latter might be possible on the basis you’ve been working for them (although not employed) for a while already.

But salary is where you’re more likely to be able to negotiate, so it might be a case of negotiating that up enough that you’d be able to save for maternity leave.

I assume as you are currently TTC as a consultant with no maternity pay, your plan if you don’t move to an employed role is to rely on savings?

Cuppa12345 Fri 02-Aug-19 06:29:33