Talk

Advanced search

Work refusing flexible working

(7 Posts)
Confusednewmum1 Sat 13-Jul-19 22:56:46

I have worked for a company for 10+ years and I am due back from maternity leave. I am a team manager and as such need to work an element of evenings and weekends. I have came up with a shift which I think would suit teams and it’s been flat rejected because they are recruiting on another shift and that’s where the “gaps are” the issue is I can’t possibly work it. It involves sat and Sunday working as in whole weekend and individual days and regular working a week at a time until 8pm. I will be using a combination of nursery, childminder which runs from 7-18:30 and adhoc family support. But literally can’t get home after 9pm. Other team manager, have people in there team that work this crazy shift but have kept a more palatable shift. The reason I have been given as to not getting to work that shift is I will be taking a full new team, so I have to mirror. I challenged my manager and now I have to submit a formal appeal ect, I’m so stressed and ill. I’ve always been great at my job ect and feel like I’m being singled out.

Scrumptiousbears Sat 13-Jul-19 22:59:55

So who or what do you propose to cover those hours you can. I longer work?

neighbourhoodwitch Sat 13-Jul-19 23:00:05

God I'm sorry to hear this, sounds so stressful. They have to have a very good business reason for turning your request down. Could you get some advice? E.g. ACAS have a free number to call, or citizens advice?

I really hope it works out in the end for you. X

gearandloathing Sun 14-Jul-19 00:01:56

Actually they don't need a very good reason to refuse a request. Just one that fits into one of the 8 prescribed reasons in the Acas guidance, but that's fairly easy to do as they're quite vague eg detrimental impact on quality.