Employment advice- misled on offer?

(12 Posts)
ineedanotherholiday Thu 04-Jul-19 20:47:51

Hi,

Can anyone help please? I've been offered a new role with my existing employer.

I queued a few things with HR and accepted the offer in writing after having written confirmation that certain benefits would be honoured in new role & would be moving to same grade. I have not signed a new contract and will just be issued an updated version.

All fine, until I'm speaking with someone who works in new department. It turns out that my grade in new department is split into two levels. For example: I'm currently a senior manager looking to go to director, I made it clear to HR this was on the cards for me soon but due to reasons in my current role I wish to move positions. The new role is offered at senior manager position but since accepting Ive found out there are two levels of senior manager - level 1 and level 2. This was not told to me by HR.

Queuing with HR they have confirmed this is the case and I am moving to level 1. This has therefore put another step between myself and director and moved me further away from the higher level of benefits that come with director grade. I'm going to check but it is likely the banding for level 1 and 2 senior manager is not equivalent to director in my current department with the added benefits.

Aibu to think I should have been told this information beforehand? I have based the decision thinking it was a straight move. Is there anything I can do about this?

Tia smile

OP’s posts: |
Cuppa12345 Thu 04-Jul-19 20:51:01

So you are currently on level 2 Senior management? Is your salary the same as it is now and as you were told before you accepted? What's the difference between L1 and L2? Do L2 line manage L2?
Do you have to become L2 before you go to director or can you go L1 to director?

Cuppa12345 Thu 04-Jul-19 20:52:58