Employment issue

(7 Posts)
gallorgs Wed 19-Jun-19 21:18:36

Hi There
I hope someone can help

I have a 8 month old who has been poorly having breathing difficulties, he has been in & out of hospital more or less since he was born, we have even had to give hime CPR 3 times.
My problem is the doctors have found no reason why this is occuring
Since Feb there has been 8 instances when i have taken time off unpaid to attend the hospital whilst he has been kept in overnight

My employer has asked to see my sons records on this but i dont really want to divulge private info to my employer who doesnt even pay me whilst i am off sick or for dependents leave

From a legal stand point is there anything i can do

Many Thanks

gallorg

OP’s posts: |
user1498854363 Wed 19-Jun-19 21:25:40

Sorry op that sounds really tough, hope they sort out what’s going on for ds.

In terms of job, I’m not an expert/HR or solicitor, but even small companies that don’t pay dependency/ emergency leave usually only grant a certain number of days. Can you not take it as annual leave?

They probably want to confirm it is ds poor health (even if just for their records).

What does your leave policy say?
Have they said why they want this info? Can you ask?
What are the long term plans? Will you continue to need time off? Do you think they are worried about this and looking for a reason to get rid of you/sack/dismiss etc?

Are u in union? Do you have employee support phone line?

FFSeverynameisused Thu 20-Jun-19 07:46:36

you are protected under the equalities act if you are the parent of a disabled child or a child with a long term illness and it seems as though your son comes under this category.

Therefore your employer should pay you dependents leave and give you time to spend with your child when your child is in hospital.

If you yourself are sick, then that is not covered by the act unless it's disability related (your own disability).