Would you do an apprenticeship as an adult?

(16 Posts)
SassyS89 Tue 23-Oct-18 12:07:15

I am currently working as a full time receptionist with two young kids (5 and 3). I would like to work part time but this is not looking very hopeful within my current role, and part time jobs are extremely limited. I've been doing front of house work for 10 years and I am ready to progress further but as the company I work for do not have secretaries/PA's this will be impossible without going elsewhere. Ideally I would like to become a secretary/legal secretary but as I do not really have any secretarial experience, even junior secretarial roles I do not meet the criteria for.

I've just seen an apprenticeship for the Mayor's Office in my local council. I feel I meet the person specification and this would be a good way to gain some experience as a PA (the job description states once you complete the Business Administration Level 3 qualification, you can apply for an Executive Assistant position).

I am 29 yo, do you think this is too old to apply for an apprenticeship?

OP’s posts: |
Rebecca36 Tue 23-Oct-18 12:21:08

I don't think you're too old to apply for an apprenticeship, it shows you have some ambition and determination. Sounds like a good job, hope you get it.

Isleepinahedgefund Tue 23-Oct-18 15:10:40

I'm in the civil service and a high proportion of our apprentices are 25 and over. We hardly have any of the "typical" apprentice age. They also come from all walks of life, including people changing career.

One thing to check beforehand is whether there is the possibility of being kept on after the apprenticeship is over. We keep the good ones on. This needs to be specified up front, we had some trouble last year as some of the contracts had been written differently and we couldn't keep them on.

notacooldad Tue 23-Oct-18 15:13:23

My colleague applied for an apprenticeship at the age of 39. She lost out to a woman of 48.
A lot of people applied for the role.