Bank holiday pay as a part timer

(25 Posts)
Eloisedublin123 Mon 09-Jul-18 21:19:23

Guys
I work 3.5 days a week and it was 4 days a week for a while last year.
I have never worked Monday afternoons by agreement though. Am I entitled to pay in lieu of this please? For the bank hols when I “missed” half a day off? And if so, can it be backdated? I’ve been working like this for 2 years now. Tia!

OP’s posts: |
BrieAndChilli Mon 09-Jul-18 21:23:28

It doesn’t work like that.
If you work 4 days a week currently (is that right?) you get 80% of the holiday leave that full timers get.

Statutory is 5.6 week (28 days) and this can include bank hols.

As a part timer you would get 22.4 days. You would then need to use some of this holiday for any days you work that fall on a bank holiday.

BerylStreep Mon 09-Jul-18 21:24:48

Yes, you are entitled to your pro rata public holiday allowance, regardless of the actual days on which you work. And since it is an entitlement, if you haven't been receiving it, you should be entitled to backpay.

What is the Full time public holiday entitlement in your place?

SpinMill Mon 09-Jul-18 21:27:23

I used to work Monday-Thursday. Every year when we were closed for Good Friday and everyone else had it off anyway, I used to get a day in lieu to use at another time. I've no idea whether this would be the same across the board or varies from company to company.

Eloisedublin123 Mon 09-Jul-18 21:29:29

9 bank hols in Ireland (I’m in Ireland) and I’ve worked a year on 3.5 days a week and a year on 4 days a week (give or take)

dementedpixie Mon 09-Jul-18 21:31:58

You should get pro rated bank holidays included in your holiday entitlement already. 5.6 weeks equivalent is the minimum and bank holidays can be included in that rather than on top of it

dementedpixie Mon 09-Jul-18 21:37:29

It looks like the rules are different in Ireland though and the minimum is 4 weeks

dementedpixie Mon 09-Jul-18 21:39:39