Need advice please m.

(3 Posts)
MihaliZacharias86 Sat 23-Jun-18 00:25:12

Good morning everyone.

I've been a commercial general builder for around 8 years via employment agencies, I've always enjoyed the hunting a new job every other month aspect of it all as daft as it sounds.

I don't have a specific trade although I have an NVQ level 1 in carpentry and joinery, The problem I have is my two daughters will most likely be coming to live with me providing a judge grants a residency order in the next couple of weeks when myself and ex-wife are due our hearing.
I'm not passionate about building but it is a hobby, I enjoy gaining knowledge in all different aspect of the construction industry.

With us all being due our Childrens 6 weeks holiday I can't image paying up-to £80 a day in childcare for me to be able go to work, I sometimes only earn £100 a day if I'm lucky, More some weeks or months depending on the contract.

What options do I have guys?

I don't want to be a bum, I get bad anxiety when I go anywhere near a job centre, I won't be able to cover all of my bills.

I pay finance on a car that I use mainly for work but also to pick my daughters up from mom who lives 70 miles away.

If the girls come to live with myself, Owning the car isn't life or death but being mobile helps me keep sane as I live in a small town and have become accustomed to being able to take my daughters to theme parks and trips around the country to see family.

Im toying with the idea of a part time job, Going back to college in September for my level 2 in Joinery. If I secured a part time job would DWP help me pay my council tax, Rent Ect...?

Eventually I will work my way up-to earning no less that £250.00 day in order to give my daughters the lifestyle I believe they deserve.

I just can't get my head around how my life will be turned upside down possibly in the next few weeks, In the line of work, Being able to hold down a job, Pay for childcare, Be able to pay the finance on the car and keep up with every other bill.

Apologies for my long thread, And for how confusing I sound.. I'm lost right now lol

Any advice at all would be much appreciated.

Mike grin

OP’s posts: |
Mountainsoutofmolehills Sat 23-Jun-18 00:39:43

Gosh, how great!!! I totally love the change. You gotta keep your car. Yup you should be able to get support for this. But what you are entitled to ?? should check with citizens advice, govt careers advice, and also your benefit allowance. Joinery Level 2 is good, so super thumbs up for that choice. Also, since you want to be at home.. could you look at reupholstry, furniture refurbishment/repairs.... etc.?

can you make up an fb page with your skills experience, and list of jobs you can do. There are so many singles like me that need handy men... smile

MihaliZacharias86 Sat 23-Jun-18 02:07:03

I would love to be able stay in the construction industry for a few more years, With the wages I'll be on though I will not be able to keep me and the kids afloat.

I would like to put myself forward on Facebook pages as a handyman type but sometimes lack in confidence.

I'm sure whichever way I go about it all I'll figure it out.

Thank you anyway.

OP’s posts: |

Join the discussion

To comment on this thread you need to create a Mumsnet account.

Join Mumsnet

Already have a Mumsnet account? Log in