Moving up in NHS or stay at same level

(4 Posts)
applegate79 Sat 02-Jun-18 22:10:41

Advice needed. I’m a midwife in NHS and I’ve been seconded for a year to a role which is 50% clinical and 50% management. It’s been great experience and good for my CV, but I’ve done masses of work in my own time, can’t switch off from it and find it really stressful although a lot of the time i do enjoy this challenge too. It’s the same amount of hours but the shorter management days as opposed to 12.5 hr shifts mean I’m in more frequently. There’s a possibility of it becoming permanent and I just don’t know what to do, as I’m not sure I want it but suspect from a career point of view it would be wise.
So options are back to full time clinical (on same banding) which I love or a permanent change to this role of 50/50 management/clinical which long term could ( and probably will) lead to further career progression . I’m 42 and I’ve got 4 dc 2x older 20 and 18 and 2x smaller 7and 10, I feel stretched at home although dh is an excellent support and home stuff is split 50/50 between us, my hearts not quite in carrying on with this job but I don’t want to reduce my chances of moving up the career ladder in the future for the sake of not pushing on through a couple of tricky years when I feel more of a pull to being at home more. Any advice??

OP’s posts: |
Pinkprincess1978 Sat 02-Jun-18 22:49:44

It doesn't sound like you want to continue. The future in important but sinus the here and now. Only you can make this choice.

Personally I would go with the extra responsibility with future gain but that's me.

NotARegularPenguin Sat 02-Jun-18 22:55:10

Future career.

Do you really want to work until 67 as a clinical midwife, nights, weekends, long shifts? Fuck that.

applegate79 Sun 03-Jun-18 08:55:45