Change jobs? Charity low pay vs civil service big bucks?

(21 Posts)
goteam Sun 13-May-18 20:12:28

I'm in a quandary re applying for a job. I currently work in the voluntary sector and have for around 10 years. I have been in my current job for around 2.5 years and work 2.5 days, all home based apart from a few meetings at office, good benefits eg 30 days leave, domestic leave, good sick pay etc. BUT, we have just been through a restructure, a lot of good efficien staff were let go to make way for a few lazy sycophants and consequently morale is low, with high staff turnover, sickness etc. I'm largl,y shielded from the office politics as home based but the injustice and waste of money (as we are a charity) gets me down.

I have seen a civil service job which is twice my pay (50 rather than 25k!) but I don't know whether I would be mad to leave a role that fits so well around my almost 4 and 5 year old. I can pick them up from school every day. The civil service job has similar benefits and more and seem to really invest in staff but on paper so does my charity. On paper it looks like a great place to work.

Would you apply? They say they welcome job share applicants. It is a 'project manager' type job and seems to required a lot if number crunching, managing big budgets etc which worries me (current job is more coordinating projects) It's a huge application and I'm worried that everywhere has office politics and I'll just experience that again without the luxury of working from home and with a big commute (1 hour).

OP’s posts: |
TittyGolightly Sun 13-May-18 20:13:58

The civil service really doesn’t pay mega bucks, so I think this may be a role several rungs up the ladder to where you are now.

BossWitch Sun 13-May-18 20:19:12

I would definitely apply. Thinking long term, imagine the difference it would make to paying off the mortgage, your pension, helping kids through uni.