Big pay cut for part time work? Worth it? Help!

(16 Posts)
Mummabear10 Wed 09-May-18 22:19:16

Hi All,

I am new to Mumsnet and am looking for a little advice. Sorry if it is an essay! Thank you if you read.

I currently work full time, 38hours per week, with the commute it is more like 45 hours per week that I am out of the house. My partner also works full time and we have a 3 year old who attends nursery full time :-( which I feel guilty about.

My partner has a lot of issues at the moment that cause a lot of stress which I wont bore you with. He does not help with any chores or day to day childcare like bath time, bedtime, activities. I also manage any household jobs etc. He is also very poor with money.

I feel burnt out! I know thats life and people have it worse but I am constantly exhusted. I am not being a good employee or mother. I am pulled in too many directions. I had a severe anxiety attack at work last year which my doctor attributes to grief after loosing my Mum however daily stressors certainly built up.

I have just been offered an Admin position in the NHS for 25hours on Minimum wage close to home and I am tempted to take it. My close friends think I should take it for more balance. However I have had a few comments I would be mad to give up my current salary (27k) and will never earn it again.

Deep down I think I should take it, money isn't everything however these comments have give me doubts. To top it off I am worried my current employer will be really annoyed when I give my notice in & give me a bad reference. I do my job well but have had 10 absences over 18months. 5 after my panic attack ( I was signed off for 30 day's & gave HR a fit not but returned early after pressure from my employer) 2 when I had a corneal ulcer, and 3 for illness involving my child.

Any opinion's on my situation would be appreciated.

OP’s posts: |
BabyBed Wed 09-May-18 22:24:19