Performance improvement plan - do I have any rights?

(13 Posts)
phone123 Tue 24-Apr-18 08:52:00

I work in a management position, received a yearly review in August stating performance is ok in all areas.
Since then no other performance related conversations.

8 weeks ago my boss asked to talk to me with no prior warning and basically told me I am an underperforming manager, immediate improvement needed or I am going on a performance improvement plan. I questioned this as it came as a complete surprise but agreed to work on my performance in the areas where my boss said I was underperforming.
6 weeks later we had another conversation where I was told my performance had improved.

This morning my boss asked to speak with me and told me he has decided I am still underperforming and he will be putting me on a performance improvement plan shortly. Again this came as a surprise the meeting wasn’t scheduled previously I was completely unprepared.

No huge backstory my boss and I have quite different views, we have disagreed about employee and customer related issues but not to the point of falling out. I do feel that I am the only one who questions my boss as all other managers seem to be scared of him.
There was an issue we disagreed on at the end of last week...but I thought we came to an agreement. Now looking back it feels like he was annoyed I challenged him.
I have worked for the company for 15 years with no performance issues up until now.

Do I have any rights or just have to agree that I’m underperforming and go on the performance improvement plan? I love my job and don’t want to leave the company...

OP’s posts: |
DailyMailDontStealMyThread Tue 24-Apr-18 13:08:05

If you love your job and don’t want to leave then you will need to prove you have improved on the areas put in to the performance plan.

Do you have copies of your previous reviews and did your boss complete any paperwork at the last meeting that you can have a copy of where he said you had improved?