Getting a new job during pregnancy - I need your positive stories!

(21 Posts)
wejammin Thu 22-Mar-18 19:47:06

I'm a high street solicitor, I work 28 hours over 3 days. I mostly enjoy my job and the hours are just right for me and my family.

I've just found out that due to a big fall out in the partnership and some bad mismanagement, the company is very likely to be closing soon and we will all be made redundant. My redundancy package will be tiny (about £600 I think).

I am also 8 weeks pregnant. I have told one colleague but not my boss.

I am really anxious that I'm going to struggle to find another role. My field is very small and quite cliquey in my city. Hiding the pregnancy would give me an awful reputation so I can't not disclose at interview, but will anyone really take on a pregnant woman in part time hours?

Any one managed it with a happy ending? I need some positivity as I feel so down.

OP’s posts: |
wejammin Thu 22-Mar-18 20:59:32

Little bump - anyone?....

ListeningtoBowie Thu 22-Mar-18 21:02:06

Could you afford to take some time out of work?

MushroomMushroom Thu 22-Mar-18 21:09:28

Maybe you could consider locum work during your pregnancy? More money in such roles so you could save while pregnant.
I

Zebrasinpyjamas Thu 22-Mar-18 21:16:37

I had a similar experience and don't have any positive stories to tell (so sorry to say that). I agree with pp can you do a temporary contract? You may be eligible for maternity allowances which would cover some of the loss of maternity pay.

wejammin Thu 22-Mar-18 21:46:15

I'm currently saving as much as I can , I have 2 months' salary in savings, and thankfully DH's salary will cover the mortgage and bills so I could afford time off but we were saving to move to a bigger place in the next 5 years.

If it comes to it I could maybe try office agency work (admin etc) to tide me over, has anyone tried that before maternity leave?

wejammin Thu 22-Mar-18 21:47:23