Talk

Advanced search

Have you ever left a new job after one day?

(21 Posts)
IdRatherHaveABowlOfCocoPops Mon 12-Feb-18 16:24:59

I've been cleaning in a factory for the past 8 years, it's closing so I had to leave.

I went for an interview Friday at a care home, started today, cleaning.

Firstly my DBS hasn't come back yet I was left on my own the whole time with the residents alone in their rooms, I could have been anyone. They are vulnerable people.

Secondly, it's vile. The whole place is just pure filth. I don't just mean the spit everywhere but also old stale piss in the carpets and dried on shit up the walls etc... I did what I had to do today but in the time frame I have there's no way to get it all done, it needs a proper industrial deep clean.

Thirdly I was in the garden when a big dog appears. I am terrified of dogs since once bit my Mum as a kid when we were out. Apparently it belongs to a staff member and is there every day and it loves all the residents and they love him... Well, said dog comes up to me looking pissed off, I didn't know what to do I needed to get passed. The owner appears and says he's ok, don't touch his head but you can stroke him. Went to stroke him so he knew I was ok but he went for my hand. A big snarl and snapping of teeth. Owner flew over and ushered it inside while it barked and howled to get back out, at me! She says he's never done that before.... hmmmmm.

Fourthly, the Manager doesnt do a rota it's up to the other cleaner and me to work out our shifts. He tells me I'm off Thursday and Friday and working all weekend and then the full week after. Says he never works Sundays as he likes a roast dinner at home... Oh, ok....