Talk

Advanced search

mumsnet work

Find the perfect family friendly job

Advice on when/how to tell temp job about pregnancy

(7 Posts)
Tabbycatrem Tue 03-Oct-17 21:18:18

Hi there,
I'm just looking for a bit of advice really as I'm new to the work world generally as well as the pregnancy world!
Im currently 22 weeks pregnant and started a 3 month temp job last week. The temp agency are aware of the pregnancy but I dont think the company im working for are. I realise that me being pregnant doesnt have any negative impacts on the company as its office based and i finish the assignment a 5 weeks before im due. I just dont know how to broach the subject, whether I should, how to do it, and in a casual capacity which would be easier or take the manager to the side and tell her that way.
I just hate not being able to talk about it especially when half the office chat is baby chat! Any advice would be very appreciated!

Workingonthemoon Tue 03-Oct-17 22:49:44

Would you not be visibly pregnant by now?

Tabbycatrem Wed 04-Oct-17 07:14:01

No im not really showing that much, and because they didn't meet me until last week and because I'm wearing loose fitting clothing I think I just look like I have a bit of a pot belly

missarcher Wed 04-Oct-17 08:31:45

Hmm it's a grey area, you typically have to tell your employer 15 weeks before the week your baby's due, but you've done that so I don't think there's any obligation to tell the manager unless adjustments need to be made or something happens where you can't finish out the assignment

mamatobabes Wed 04-Oct-17 08:54:47