Going to work for a competitor.

(13 Posts)
anxiousworld Sat 09-Sep-17 15:51:37

I got fired last week from my job, I'd been there for 16 months and it was an unfair dismissal, however, I didn't appeal it because I didn't want to go back there after how badly they'd treated me.

I was at home, depressed, I wasn't worried about getting a new job, I had 2 interviews lined up and one of them seemed promising.

It was Monday when I got a call from a guy I used to work with at my old place, he asked if I'd left too, I said yeah, he said ok, I want you to meet someone, can you come to xxxx at 3 today? So I said yes, and I went.

Here's the thing. Exact same industry, different company, direct competition to my last place. They offered me the job on the spot, they thought I could take their brand forward, which of course I can.

However, it's in my contract that I can't work for a competitor for the next 12 months, nor can I work in the industry within 10 miles of my last employer forever. Which is daft, because this town is the central hub for this kind of business and where most of their competitors work.

Anyhow, I accepted the offer as they told me if my previous employer tried to sue me, they'd defend me and pay the legal fees... so that took the worry out of my mind. And I'm on 7k more here. I started the next day.

My last employer owe's me my 4 weeks pay in lieu and my untaken holiday. Can they withhold this from me if they discover I'm working for a competitor? Which of course they will find out because we're going to be at the same event in 2 weeks time and I'm due to be paid on the 29th. They owe me almost 2.7k after tax.

I'm just worried that they'll take this money and not pay me. Can they do that? Break the contract? Since I already broke it?

I know people are going to be funny about this, as people have been, but I was fired. They clearly aren't worried about me doing anything great for any other company since they said I was crap at my job.

OP’s posts: |