Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

I am terrible at interviews

(9 Posts)
Smurf123 Tue 20-Jun-17 22:16:35

I am a teacher and I know I am good at what I do. Any school I have had the opportunity to work in longer term had told me they don't want to lose me. In my part of the world permanent teaching jobs are difficult to come by. Most have someone subbing in them for a year before the past is then advertised..
I've just come back from a year tabbing abroad and I've been subbing in one school since October. They have told me I am their number one sub and that they would like to have me on every day of they can. But they don't have any jobs going atm especially with a serious lack in finding.
I've had a few interviews this year and I know I panick. I have answers planned but I go in and my mind just goes blank.. I ramble and leave out half the stuff I want to say.
Had another interview tonight and as I haven't had a phone call I know I haven't got it. On paper I know I was an excellent candidate but how do I get over my fear of interviews to be able to get a post to show new people that? I have 3 more interviews in the next week... I really would love more than anything to be appending my summer planning lessons and resources for my own class!!!

AlternativeTentacle Wed 21-Jun-17 20:21:31

Firstly, know the actual job role and needs off by heart and make notes on when you have demonstrated the particular skills they require.

At the end, ask these questions:
'What are the qualities that you are looking for in the person to do this job?' This gives them a chance to go through what else they are looking for and you can respond positively to all their needs/requirements.
then ask 'Is there anything else you want to know about me' so they can just get more info that might be on their minds and it can sway the decision up a few notches.