Talk

Advanced search

I know they're not obliged to reply but....

(9 Posts)
NoisyBrain Mon 29-May-17 10:16:31

Maybe I'm being a sensitive little snowflake but I just find it rather depressing that a business CBA to even have a token "Thanks but we're not hiring" standard email ready to send in reply to someone who has taken the trouble to email them.

I've reached out speculatively to a couple of local creative agencies recently, just to sound them out informally about whether there may be any employment opportunities with them, in a concise, polite, professional email. I have over 20 years' experience in their industry, so it's not like I'm some 'wet behind the ears' hopeful.

I spoke to a friend who runs an agency in another area and he admitted that they don't reply to speculative emails, though he acknowledged that they should really out of courtesy.

AIB too sensitive or is it just rude? It can't take that much effort to fob someone off can it? I'd be interested to hear from anyone who receives speculative emails in their line of work. If you ignore, what's the reason? (I'm genuinely interested to know, not going to attack anyone for it! lol) Is there something I could include in the email that would make it more likely to receive a reply?

NewIdeasToday Mon 29-May-17 10:21:46

Unfortunately I think many people are just too busy. I receive loads of unsolicited emails. And I find it hard enough keeping on top of my real business emails. So the unsolicited ones tend to get binned quickly.

You've mentioned reaching out to creative agencies. Can you approach them in a different way (eg post not email) and include samples of your work? That might have more impact.

Chewbecca Mon 29-May-17 10:28:34

YANBU, I've sent two speculative messages internally in the last 2 weeks & has no reply which has shocked me, I would always reply internally.