Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Actor - axed once cast

(9 Posts)
mooneus Wed 24-May-17 23:45:02

May be a tricky one for most to offer advice on, but I work as an actor. Last week I was cast in a role, we had our first rehearsal and today I received a phone call to say 'after careful consideration we don't think you're right for the role'.

When I received the call I was in a public space and didn't want to get angry over the phone, but I'm absolutely devastated. When I arrived at rehearsal it was clear that I was perhaps not as experienced as the rest of the cast. I think this made me a bit nervous and I did stutter over a bit of the script when reading. But I know from experience once I know the lines I'm fine. I kind of feel this was a rash decision and I wasn't really given a fair chance. However, I do understand that if they thought it wasn't working then its best to pull the plug.

They did offer to pay me for the day of rehearsal and said they would give me 'priority' when it came to casting future shows. However, I am in two minds about working with them again. I do appreciate them being honest and upfront with me, but at the same time I feel like I wasn't given a chance, when I know I can do better. Is it fair to sack someone on the first day of the job?

Any thoughts?

daisychain01 Thu 25-May-17 04:58:45

Sorry you didn't get the role, but I think it's a stretch you thinking you were 'sacked'. In paid employment, in any case you can be let go without reason after a day, so I can't see how your acting role was any different. At least they were honest and let you go quickly

Were you on contract with them? What did that contract say about notice?

Re taking the call in a public place, that was hardly their fault. You could have asked them to wait while you found a more private place to take their call.

NightWanderer Thu 25-May-17 05:50:01