Talk

Advanced search

Extended probation & no answers

(11 Posts)
CoconutGal Sun 21-May-17 17:41:48

I've been in my current job 5 months. They knew about my disability but decided not to change my role, a month in & my disability was at its worst one day & now I have a change of role & risk assessment in place as well as extended probation. My probation ends next month (June). I have been asking my manager for the last 2 months if we can meet & discuss what's going to happen to my employment from the end of my probation. All I keep getting told is "I don't know but we will definitely sit down & talk about it with the big boss". But nothing happens. Staff are continuing with their roles but I'm unable to fulfil my role that I applied for because of the changes to my role. It means that basically they're paying me the wage for the role I applied for but I'm not delivering that service.

I've contacted my union but they've been slow to reply to the point where they know what's going on but they too have not got back to me. What do I do? I have 2 weeks left.

flowery Sun 21-May-17 20:23:57

I'm not clear whether the change to your role is a good thing or not. You seem to suggest in your second sentence that they didn't change your role but should have done, but then later you indicate that now they have but don't seem to see it as a good thing?

CoconutGal Sun 21-May-17 20:36:28

Flowry - sorry let me clear things out a little, I applied & began my role as a nurse. Now I am on a stricter role, so I have no patient contact on my own, I don't run clinics, I am mainly administrative.

daisychain01 Mon 22-May-17 04:27:15

I'd be concerned by the fact that you were employed as a nurse and now they are just giving you admin tasks to do, when you are (presumably) keen to get on and do the job you were hired for.