Talk

Advanced search

Advice on NHS pre-employment checks

(15 Posts)
LilaBard Sun 14-May-17 14:16:39

Hi all! New member here, hoping for a little advice as MN was the place that seemed to turn up most when I googled!

I'm looking a little advice on how NHS pre-employment checks work.
I've just been offered a band 2 clerical job in a local trust, which I am thrilled about. What I'm not so thrilled about is how to break it to my current boss.

I've been working in my current job for 10 years almost, 30 hrs/3.5 days a week most of that time (started as FT maternity cover then went to a job share as I liked the place). The older member of staff has been talking about retirement for maybe 3 or 4 years so I always held on as I would have been guaranteed FT hours then but she's showing no signs of leaving and tbh my current wages are getting me deeper into debt.

So basically I've been advised not to hand in my notice til I get a confirmed offer post-checks. My issue is my current boss will be asked for a reference. Do I tell him tomorrow and suffer up to 8 weeks of him being frankly childish about me leaving (as much as I am fond of him, I know he will be), or will the trust tell me when they're at the stage of contacting references so I can give him a heads up? Is there an order the checks usually take? There won't be an issue as I've told the truth, done an aptitude test/interview, and never had any formal or informal warnings at work - somehow!

I work in a very very small place and alongside my boss directly all day every day, so want to avoid an atmosphere if I possibly can.

Thanks for any help or insight you can give!

Pippin8 Sun 14-May-17 14:25:44

As far as I'm aware the trust won't tell you, they'll just email for the references. So, it might be best to give him the heads up.

Also, I don't think there is any set order, different trust HR departments work differently.

Pollyanna9 Sun 14-May-17 14:39:23